PM Modi Allocates Portfolios to Newly Formed Union Cabinet

New Delhi: Prime Minister Narendra Modi allocated responsibilities to his 71-member council of ministers a day after being sworn in for an unprecedented third consecutive term. The newly formed Union Cabinet held its inaugural meeting at the Prime Minister’s official residence today.

Key Cabinet Minister assignments:
– Prime Minister Narendra Modi: Ministry of Personnel, Public Grievances and Pensions; Department of Atomic Energy; Department of Space
– Rajnath Singh: Ministry of Defence
– Amit Shah: Ministry of Home Affairs; Ministry of Cooperation
– Nitin Gadkari: Ministry of Road Transport and Highways; Ministry of Chemicals and Fertilizers
– JP Nadda: Ministry of Health and Family Welfare
– Shivraj Singh Chouhan: Ministry of Agriculture & Farmers Welfare; Ministry of Rural Development
– Nirmala Sitharaman: Ministry of Finance; Ministry of Corporate Affairs
– Subrahmanyam Jaishankar: Ministry of External Affairs
– Manohar Lal Khattar: Ministry of Housing and Urban Affairs; Ministry of Power

The diverse group of ministers, a mix of experienced lawmakers and fresh faces, represents various regions and social backgrounds, bringing a wide range of perspectives and expertise to the government.

Cabinet Composition:
– Ministers from Other Backward Classes: 27
– Ministers from Scheduled Castes: 10
– Ministers from Scheduled Tribes: 5
– Ministers from minorities: 5
– Senior Ministers heading ministries: 18
– Ministers with significant parliamentary experience: 43
– Ministers who have served in central and state governments: 39
– First-time ministers: 33, including several from BJP’s coalition partners

The NDA government, supported by allies, has ensured representation from all corners of the country and diverse social groups. The coalition has a comfortable majority in the Lok Sabha, with the council of ministers carefully adhering to constitutional limits on its size.

The 18th Lok Sabha, consisting of 543 members, restricts the council of ministers to a maximum of 81 members. Following the BJP’s victory in the 2024 elections, the NDA has secured a solid mandate, with the opposition party INDIA bloc holding a significant share of seats.

Looking ahead, the first session of the 18th Lok Sabha is scheduled to commence on June 18, with President Droupadi Murmu’s joint address expected on June 21. The Lower House MPs will take their oaths on June 18-19, followed by the election of the Speaker on June 20.