Bihar: Nitish Kumar Becomes CM For The 8th Time, Tejashwi Yadav Takes Oath As Deputy CM

Patna, 10th August 2022: Nitish Kumar has taken the oath as the Chief Minister of Bihar for the 8th time. Governor Fagu Chauhan administered the oath of office and secrecy to Kumar at Raj Bhavan in Patna today afternoon.




Along with Kumar, Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) leader Tejashwi Yadav has also taken the oath as a minister. He has become the Deputy CM of the state for the second time. In the new government of the Grand Alliance, the Council of Ministers will be formed later. After taking the oath, Tejashwi Yadav accepted blessings by touching the feet of ‘Uncle’ Nitish.




Several family members of RJD supremo Lalu Prasad Yadav were present at the swearing-in ceremony at Raj Bhavan. Major leaders of RJD, including former CM Rabri Devi, his son Tej Pratap Yadav, and the wife of Tejashwi Yadav, were at the swearing-in ceremony.




After taking the oath, Nitish Kumar said that the people of Bihar are content with the new government. According to the Cm, the election of 2020 was unfair to JDU, and several of his party MLAs constantly said that the BJP should be left behind. Nitish Kumar stated that some people think the opposition will end, but now “we have also come into the opposition. The opposition will be stronger.”




Nitish Kumar said the opposition parties will unite in the 2024 Lok Sabha elections and that the BJP will not be able to maintain its performance in 2024 as it did in 2014. Kumar further said that the decision regarding him being the prime ministerial candidate of the opposition in 2024 has not been taken yet but added that he has no such intention.